Thursday 24 September, 2020

Breaking: New PPM-led coalition to form Government

Loop News understands that a new People’s Progressive Movement (PPM)-led coalition will form the island’s government.

The coalition includes all three Cayman Democratic Party (CDP) candidates including CDP leader McKeeva Bush as well as, independently elected candidate for Prospect, Austin Harris.

This news comes after several coalitions have fallen apart since election night on May 24. 

The deal appears to be final as the coalition met with Governor Helen Kilpatrick on Monday.

However Loop spoke with several independent candidates who say they were left out of the deal and note that " it isn't over until it is over."


Alden McLaughlin will seek election as Premier, while McKeeva Bush will take on the post of speaker of the house.

Moses Kirkconnell will take the post of Deputy Premier.

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: