Sunday 8 December, 2019

Nominations open for Scuba Diving Hall of Fame honorees

The Ministry and Department of Tourism has announced its call for nominations for honorees in the 2019 International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame (ISDHF). 

Honorees are categorised as persons who have made a significant contribution to scuba and watersports in the Cayman Islands through development, promotion, positive environmental impact or education. 
“World class diving and the Cayman Islands are synonymous around the world, not solely because of our natural environment, but because of the dedicated professionals who work tirelessly to provide an exceptional experience for enthusiasts,” shared Tourism Minister, Moses Kirkconnell.

“These individuals make significant contributions to our tourism product and I encourage everyone in the community to put forward nominations for individuals who deserve recognition.” 
Founded in 2000 by the Cayman Islands Ministry of Tourism, the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame recognises international and local pioneers who have made outstanding contributions to the recreational scuba diving industry at the annual ceremony held in Grand Cayman.

The ISDHF gala awards dinner takes place on Friday, October 4. 

To nominate an individual, please visit The deadline for submissions is noon on Monday, August 26. 
For more information on the nominations process, please click here or email 

The list of current honorees includes: 

  • Wayne Hasson  
  • Daniel Tibbets
  • Darryl Bud Walton Jr
  • Kent Eldermire
  • Jason Washington
  • Nancy Easterbrook
  • Gladys Howard
  • Dr. James Poulson
  • Captain Frank Ebanks
  • Rodney McDowall
  • Winston McDermot
  • Carlos (Norbert) Scott
  • Captain Gleason Ebanks
  • Captain Marvin Ebanks
  • James Ebanks
  • Darby Bodden
  • Captain Crosby Ebanks
  • Patrick Evans
  • Captain Chuckie Ebanks
  • Stuart Freeman
  • Ollen Miller
  • Kem Jackson
  • James Dailey
  • Cornell Burke
  • Neville Darvin Ebanks
  • Peter Milburn
  • Tom Hubble
  • Ashton Levy Ebanks
  • Burns Rutty
  • Don Foster
  • CJ Ebanks    
  • Robert (Peter) Bradshaw
  • Sam McCoy
  • Ron Kipp
  • Arthle Evans
  • Adrian Briggs
  • Capt. Clinton Ebanks
  • Wallace Rivers
  • Stephen Broadbelt
  • Gerald Wilcocks
  • Anthony Scott

Get the latest local and international news straight to your mobile phone for free: